Vizag History | Waltair Junction | Vizag Railway Station | Vizag to Araku | Vishakapatnam Beaches | Vizag Airport | Vishakapatnam Railway Station

Vizag is also Known as Vishakapatnam Formerly and Recently Changes its Name just like Mumbai for Bombay, Or Chennai for Madras.

Vizag has the Largest Sea Port and it is the Second Largest after Chennai Port, The Portuguese first Landed in Calicut in Kerala, and Second, they landed in Vizag around 1606.

The Marine Engineering and Indian Navy is Very Strong in Vizag, INS Vikranth which blasted INS Ghazi is now made as a museum, There are Many Beaches in Vizag to visit.

Tourist Places in Vizag are plenty, Rishikonda Beach, Dolphin House, Kailasa Park, and Also Borra Caves, and Araku is just 100kms away from Vizag.



Top Tourist Places in Vizag

  • VMRDA INS Kursura Submarine Museum
  • Indira Gandhi Zoological Park
  • VMRDA Kailasagiri
  • Yarada Beach
  • Rushikonda Beach
  • Sri Varaha Lakshmi Narasimha Swamy Vari
  • Ramakrishna Beach
  • Dolphin’s Nose Lighthouse
  • VUDA Park
  • Visakha Museum
  • Bheemili Beach
  • Thotlakonda
  • Kambalakonda Wildlife Sanctuary
  • Bojjanna Konda
  • Tenneti Park
  • Victory At Sea War Memorial
  • Ramakrishna Beach (RK Beach)
  • Red Sand Hills
  • Thotlakonda Beach
  • Kondakarla Bird Sanctuary
  • Titanic Sea View Point
  • Fishing Harbour
  • Thotlakonda Ancient Buddhist Monastery
  • Katiki Waterfalls
  • Araku Galikonda View Point
  • Tatiguda Waterfall
  • Borra Caves
  • Arisavilli Sun Temple
  • Srikurmam Temple

Vishakapatnam History

Inscriptions imply that the District become at the start part of the Kalinga Kingdom in the end conquered through the Eastern Chalukyas withinside the seventh Century, A.D. who dominated over it with their Head Quarters at Vengi. This District was additionally below the profession of diverse rulers along with the Reddy Rajahs of Kondaveedu, the Gajapathis of Orissa, the Nawabs of Golkonda, and the Moghal Emperor Aurangazeb via a Subedar.

This territory exceeded on to the French profession in view of succession dispute amongst Andhra Kings and subsequently, it got here below the British Reign. There become no geographical grafting until 1936 wherein 12 months, consequent at the formation of Orissa State the Taluks specifically Bissiom, Cuttack, Jayapore, Koraput, Malkanagiri, Naurangapur, Pottangi, and Rayagada of their entirety and elements of Guntur, Paduva, and Parvathipur Taluks had been transferred to Orissa State.

The Visakhapatnam District was reconstituted with the ultimate region and residuary quantities of Ganjam District specifically Sompeta, Tekkali, and Srikakulam Taluks in entirety and part of Parlakimidi, Ichchapuram, Berhampur retained in Madras presidency. With the passage of time, the reconstituted District become located administratively unwieldy, and consequently, it was bifurcated into Srikakulam and Visakhapatnam districts withinside the 12 months of 1950. The residuary district of Visakhapatnam become in addition bifurcated and the Taluks of Vizianagaram, Gajapathinagaram, Srungavarapukota, and part of Bheemunipatnam Taluk had been transferred to the newly created Vizianagaram District withinside the 12 months 1979.

Coming to the etymology of the call Visakhapatnam, culture has it that a few centuries in the past a King of Andhra Dynasty encamped at the site of the existing Head Quarters Town of Visakhapatnam on his pilgrimage to Banaras and being thrilled with the place, had constructed a shrine in honor of his own circle of relatives deity referred to as Visakeswara to the South of the Lawson’s Bay from which the district has derived its call as Visakheswarapuram which in the end modified to The encroachment of waves and currents of the ocean become speculated to have swept away the shrine into an offshore areas.

Rate this post
Murudeshwar Previous post 66 Best Places to Visit in 2021 Murudeshwar,Tourist Places
DSLR Next post DSLR Cameras under 20000 to 30000